Preface to FOTOGRAFIE DI VERSI

Friday 3 May 2019

Preface to Fotografie di Versi (Francesca Pecorella and Claudio Baccarelli)





I have always believed that lyric poetry...

Ireland's KKK

Sunday 24 February 2019

Rooskey and Ireland’s KKK

Italy may seem a strange jumping off point for an article abour Rooskey, but I believe it is an instructive example....

Thoughts on Corbyn and Brexit

Saturday 12 January 2019

Thoughts on Corbyn and Brexit

William Wall



I’m just an interested observer of British politics. To be honest, it would...

Waiting for Grace's day to dawn - on the writing of my novel Grace's Day

Friday 17 August 2018

Waiting for Grace’s Day to Dawn

First published in the Irish Times, 11th August 2018



Grace’s Day began for me (appropriately...

American Values

Tuesday 17 July 2018

American Values

I heard on the news today that Paul Ryan of the USA’s House of Representatives is critical of Donald Trump’s relationship...

Water And Its (Dis)Contents

Thursday 5 July 2018

Water and its (Dis)Contents

First published in Studi Irlandesi (Forence, Issue no. 5)

The watery hazes

It’s a foggy...

Repeal the 8th Amendment

Wednesday 9 May 2018

On the 8th Amendment

‘Whatever happens while you’re taking this medication,’ the doctor told me, ‘Liz must not become pregnant.’ The medication...

Italy 2018 Elections

Monday 5 March 2018

The British and Irish newspapers are full of the danger to the EU posed by the recent Italian elections. Some of that (on the part of British papers...

School Shootings

Friday 16 February 2018

I've been thinking about school shootings. I was a teacher once, and I remember one particular young man of 17 years who had really serious anger management...

Why I oppose paying for water

Wednesday 12 April 2017

Why do I oppose paying for drinking water?

1. Firstly I oppose the idea that if we use something we should pay for it. This is fine in a transactional...